Not Yielding To Emergency Vehicles in VA Can Cost You
Many know this scenario:
While driving along any road, street, or highway with music blasting or music off, flashing lights are spotted in the side or rear view mirror. A police car, fire engine or EMS vehicle rushing to assist in an emergency. What does the driver do? Pull over and stop? Some do. But others, step on the gas to out run the approaching vehicle; an excuse to go through a red light.
Scenarios like this may be coming to an end for Virginia residents as well as those who travel Virginia roads and highways. Virginia Governor Ralph Northam signed into law a rule that addresses drivers who fail to slow down or move over for police, firefighters or EMS vehicles. Under the new law that that goes into effect on July 1, motorists may be pulled over and face reckless driver fines (similar to speeding over 80 mph). Penalties for reckless driving in Virginia can include up to a year in jail.
Another new rule fines drivers caught holding a cellphone while driving in a Virginia work zone $250. This rule adds to Virginia’s existing ban on texting while driving anywhere in the state.
Prince George’s County has laws that combat speeding, reckless driving and distracted driving. Police Chief Hank Stawinski and County Executive Angela Alsobrooks have made safe driving on the streets and highways of Prince George’s County the highest priority. They continue to work on new ideas to bring the number of traffic accidents and deaths down to zero.